Life balance

Balance. The ultimate goal. Ricky Lankford

I quit smoking long time ago

Leave a comment

… and Im never going back to it.

I have been a smoker for 10 years in total. With small and big breaks, from 1 day to 1 year. But I was never able to stop completely.  Sometimes it was just few cigarettes a day, but very often it was a pack or two daily…

I don’t smoke since almost a year, and the difference between now and my previous attempts is that I’m not just holding on as much as I can. I simply don’t want to smoke.

There are few things which helped me to realize how bad smoking actually is.

Terrible, disgusting smell and taste. Its like omg!! why it took me so long to realize how bad and disgusting I smell? My clothes, hair, skin, fingers, and the most my mouth – everything was stinking with tobacco instead of perfume or toothpaste! It is disgusting for both men and women, but for a woman it’s simply critical!!! We are born to smell nice and healthy, and instead I was choosing to stink like a homeless… And that aftertaste in my mouth.. oh god. It’s the worse..And my teeth! I never knew they can be so white, up until now… Generally speaking, picture of human being intentionally destroying his own flesh is disgusting. And it stinks.

The other thing which I realized – each time after smoking I felt like in clouds. Damn it, I’ ve got tired to feel like I’m drugged! Since I stopped smoking my mind is clear and focused again. Smoking is NOT HELPING TO CALM DOWN!!! It simply slows down your brain(and not only) processes by increasing blood pressure and changing blood flow. So the result is that you are not focusing on stress . You actually cant focus at all.

Sport is one of the things which can assist as well. I started running. Running and smoking don’t go together. Each time I went running I felt the smoke and pain in my lungs and throat. I could not breathe after few minutes of run, so at some point I had to choose. I chose health.

What also prevented me from quitting before – I needed breaks at work. At least each hour or two. And what you gonna do if you aren’t smoking? You can’t just wonder around like a ghost, and you can’t have a coffee every hour. So I ve decided that I will join smokers for a break but I will not smoke myself. It worked. After some time I simply reduced amount of breaks and didn’t have an urge to make one.

And of course. Money. However, prices for cigarettes do not seem to concern smokers at all. No matter how much they grow – the amount of smokers is not significantly changing. Now, that’s what I call persistence – no matter the price, we will find money! We wanna pay for killing our own health, and we are ready to pay a lot! This aspect never concerned me neither. I always had money for cigarettes!! But since I stopped I ve realized that each month I have extra bucks out of nowhere. That’s a pretty nice bonus of being healthy.

Quitting smoking doesn’t work with baby steps. Everything else in this world works – start reading 30 mins a day, waking up 10 mins  earlier, exercising for 15 mins. But quitting smoking has to happen at once. I never succeeded when I tried to reduce to 10, 5, 1 cigarette a day. 1 is close to 2, and 2 is close to 20. It won’t work. You have to decide to stop smoking once and for all.

Now each time someone offers a cigarette, or smokes around, reminding me of “my times” – I just tell to myself how badly I will stink, that I will feel drugged and I’ll have pain in throat and lungs. And on top of all I will feel guilt. No thanks, I will just have coffee 🙂

Author: Yuliya

I am a girl on the path of mindful living. I practice meditation and yoga, trying to eat healthy and do sports. I am convinced that love is the answer to everything. Let's bring more light into this world. <3 Love&peace <3

Leave a Reply

